Excitement across the Concacaf region as Nations League Qualifying kicks off
Action of the friendly match between the Dominican Republic and Turks and Caicos Islands on March 22, 2018 at the Estadio Feliz Sanchez prior to the Concacaf Nations League Qualifying kicks off. (Photo courtesy of the Federation of the Dominican Republic)

MIAMI, Florida– Concacaf’s vision of a more competitive landscape for its Member Associations is set to become a reality with the start of 2019/20 Concacaf Nations League Qualifying on Thursday.

The Nations League is part of an initiative spearheaded by Concacaf leadership in which 34 of the region’s 40 currently eligible teams will play four match dates from September 2018 to March 2019.

The matches will determine which 10 teams will join Mexico, Costa Rica, Panama, Honduras, United States, Trinidad and Tobago in the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup.

It all gets started on Thursday, September 6 with Dominica hosting Suriname, followed by a clash between Guyana and Barbados.

Without question, there are a number of scintillating match-ups on the docket on Matchday 1.

Nicaragua has shown great improvement in recent years as evidenced by its qualification for the 2017 Gold Cup, and it will be tested early with a visit to Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, who reached the fourth round of Concacaf World Cup Qualifying for Russia 2018.

One of the favorites in the CNL is 2015 and 2017 Gold Cup finalist Jamaica, who will boast a youth-driven side when it hosts Cayman Islands.

Another duel to watch will be Saints Kitts and Nevis at home versus Puerto Rico. Head Coach Jacques Passy has been unafraid to have the Sugar Boyz play friendlies in some of the most hostile atmospheres in Europe. 

They will surely be ready to go against a Puerto Rico side looking to bring a smile to its people after the devastation of last fall’s Hurricane Maria.


Here is the full Matchday 1 CNL schedule:

Sept. 6: Dominica-Suriname

Sept. 6: Guyana-Barbados

Sept. 7: Anguilla-French Guiana

Sept. 7: Antigua and Barbuda-Saint Lucia

Sept. 7: Belize-Bahamas

Sept. 8: Saint Vincent and the Grenadines-Nicaragua

Sept. 8: Cuba-Turks and Caicos Islands

Sept. 8: Montserrat-El Salvador

Sept. 9: Bonaire-Dominican Republic

Sept. 9: U.S. Virgin Islands-Canada

Sept. 9: Aruba-Bermuda

Sept. 9: Jamaica-Cayman Islands

Sept. 9: Saint Kitts and Nevis-Puerto Rico

Sept. 10: Haiti-Sint Maarten

Sept. 10: Curacao-Grenada

Sept. 11: Saint Martin-Guadeloupe

Sept. 11: Martinique-British Virgin Islands